British Honors for Cate Blanchett, Meryl Streep


The British Film Institute will honor Cate Blanchett with its Fellowship Award at the London Film Festival on Oct. 17 – one day before the closing of the fest, which commences on Oct. 7. The two-time Oscar winner appears at the fest on behalf of Todd Haynes’ Carol and James Vanderbilt’s Truth, which, as Awards Daily notes, will make their UK debuts at the fest.

Check out some recent Fellowship recipients below, with bold indicating those who picked up Oscar nods in the same years that they received their Fellowship Awards.

  • 2015: Mel Brooks – earlier this year
  • 2014: Stephen Frears, Al Pacino
  • 2013: John Boorman, Philip French, Christopher Lee
  • 2012: Tim Burton (Frankenweenie – animated feature), Helena Bonham Carter (Les Misérables*), Bryan Forbes, Richard Lester
  • 2011: David Cronenberg (A Dangerous Method), Judi Dench (J. Edgar and My Week with Marilyn**), Ralph Fiennes (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2***), Isabelle Huppert
  • 2010: Danny Boyle (127 Hours – picture, director, adapted screenplay), David Rose

*The film received won three Oscars – including supporting actress – from eight nominations.
**Dench received a BAFTA nod for supporting actress; the film received Oscar bids for actress and supporting actor.
***The film received nominations for art direction (now production design), makeup, and visual effects.

This Fellowship honor suggests that Blanchett will hit the campaign trail for both Carol and Truth, but… will she drop to supporting for one of them? I’m the only one shouting this possibility into the void, but hey, if she’s the lead of Truth and it’s a flashier part than her turn in Carol (as some have claimed it to be)…

Via Streeply

Next up, Meryl Streep will receive the Stanley Kubrick Britannia Award for Excellence in Film at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts Los Angeles’s (BAFTA-LA) ceremony at the Beverly Hilton on Oct. 30. Variety reports that James Corden and Sam Mendes will also receive Brittania Awards at the same ceremony.

The actress leads Jonathan Demme’s Ricki and the Flash – now playing in theaters across the United States – and also features in Sarah Gavron’s women’s-rights drama Suffragette, whose European premiere will kick off the aforementioned BFI London Film Festival. Ricki may not even get an all-out Oscar campaign, but we expect Streep to hit the campaign trail hard for Suffragette.

Check out the last five winners of this particular honor below. Bold indicates that the actor received an Oscar nomination the same year they won their Brittania Award, while gold indicates an Oscar win.

  • 2014: Robert Downey Jr. (The Judge*)
  • 2013: George Clooney (Gravity**)
  • 2012: Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln – actor)
  • 2011: Warren Beatty
  • 2010: Jeff Bridges (True Grit – actor)

*Robert Duvall landed a supporting-actor nomination.
**Gravity won seven Oscars – including director – and picked up three other nominations – including actress.

From what we know, Streep only features in Suffragette for a few minutes, so Clooney’s win in 2013 seems like the best comparison: industry love for the movie but little attention paid to the recipient’s performance. Of course, it’s far-fetched to think that things will line up that exact way – especially when we’re talking about the Great and Powerful Streep – but you never know…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s